Menu
  • private practice
  • advanced dermatology in munich
  • munich, salvatorstrasse 3
  • phone +49 89 18 93 25 85

PHOTODYNAMIC THERAPY

Photodynamic therapy (PDT) has been an established treatment method for over 15 years in effectively dealing with precursors of non-melanoma skin cancer (actinic keratoses) and superficial basal cell carcinoma with light in combination with a photosensitizer.

The PDT is particularly well suited for the treatment of actinic keratoses, which are a frequent precancerous condition of squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). This is mainly caused by chronic UV light damage to the skin and is the most important risk factor for squamous cell carcinoma. In contrast to surgical excision, photodynamic therapy provides the advantage of being less invasive and causing less damage to the skin.

In the first session excess tissue is removed and the affected skin areas are perforated by using a fractional laser to improve uptake of the photosensitizer. After that a cream or gel, the so-called “photosensitizer” will be applied for 3 hours. The photosensitizing cream penetrates the skin cells, making them more sensitive to the subsequent 8-minute irradiation with cold red light. If at all, a second treatment is required after several weeks to months.

PDT is not suitable for the treatment of malignant melanoma.

About Author /

Hier steht eine Beschreibung des Autors

PHOTODYNAMISCHE THERAPIE

Die Photodynamische Therapie (PDT) ist ein seit 15 Jahren etabliertes Verfahren zur Behandlung von Vorstufen des weißen Kautkrebs (aktinische Keratosen) und dem oberflächlichen Basaliom (sog. „weißer Hautkrebs“) mit Licht in Kombination mit einem Photosensibilisator.

Die PDT eignet sich besonders gut zur Behandlung von Aktinischen Keratosen, die eine häufige obligate Präkanzerose (Krebsvorstufe) des Plattenepithelkarzinoms darstellen. Diese wird vor allem durch chronische Lichtschädigung der Haut verursacht und ist der wichtigste Risikofaktor für ein Plattenepithelkarzinom. Gegenüber einer Exzision bietet die Photodynamische Therapie den Vorteil einer geringeren und weniger invasiven Schädigung der Haut.

In der ersten Sitzung wird eventuell überschüssiges Hornmaterial entfernt und die betroffenen Hautareale mittels fraktionierter Lasertherapie zur besseren Aufnahme des Photosensibilisators perforiert. Anschließend für 3 Stunden eine Creme oder Gel aufgetragen, der sog. „Photosensitizer“. Die Creme dringt dabei in die Zellen der Haut ein und macht diese empfindlicher für die anschließende 8 minütige Bestrahlung mit kaltem Rotlicht. Eine zweite Behandlung ist, wenn überhaupt, nach mehreren Wochen bis Monaten erforderlich.

Für die Therapie des malignen Melanoms (sog. „schwarzer Hautkrebs“) ist die PDT nicht geeignet.

About Author /

Hier steht eine Beschreibung des Autors